[Global Seoulmate] Third Mission: TIME CAPSULE

Anneonghaseyo! On the Third Mission for 2014 Global Seoul-mates, we we were tasked to come up of what was Seoul like in 2014 in our eyes. I have been very busy during the holiday and this is my last minute entry. Hope they would still consider this. 🙂 Global Seoul-Mates are foreign participants (living in or outside of Korea) appointed by the Seoul Metropolitan Government that will share the beauty of Seoul and its attractions to other users in the form of writing, photos, and videos through personal channels such as SNS and blogs.

What was Seoul like in 2014 in my eyes that I would put in a Time Capsule? There were a lot of memories of Seoul this year. I made a simple collage of my favorite places in Seoul which I visited on my trip and foods, and I included the ones that were significant not only to me but to Seoulites in 2014 (of course included being chosen for the first time as a 2014 Global Seoul Mate).

2014 Memories of S-E-O-U-L

The appearance of a spaceship-like structure in the middle of the City of Seoul – the redevelopment of Dongdaemun Design Plaza (DDP) which is the newest and most iconic landmark of the Korean design industry. The Rubber Duck Project that floated in Seokchon Lake for a month which had healing properties. And the thousands of Catholics attended a Holy Mass led by Pope Francis in front of Gwanghwamun and Gyeongbokgong Palace and beatified 124 Korean martyrs. DREAM/FUTURE, HEALING, and FAITH.

What is Seoul now is their hard work, from the government down to the ordinary citizens, so that inspires me to do well. In good times and in bad times, this love for Seoul helps me, makes me dream, gives me strength, hope, and Happiness.

Seoul, my Happy Place, my Inspiration…

Leave a Reply

